Miss Peace & Mr. Peace Awards

The awarding of the annual "Miss Peace" title is a long-held tradition at William Peace University that began in 1928 with Miss Madge Riner Edson when the institution was still known as Peace Institute.

The awarding of the annual "Mr. Peace" title was inaugurated in 2014 as a new tradition at William Peace University.

The honors, voted on by the entire student body, are the highest tributes paid to a member of the Senior Class.

The basis for a nomination notes the selected student exemplifies "excellent academic qualities, community service and leadership."

Mr. & Miss Peace 2016

noneWilliam Peace University is proud to announce seniors Sheri Jacobs Keasler and Terrace L. Myles as the 2016 Miss and Mr. Peace, respectively. The honors, which are voted on by the entire student body, are the highest tributes paid to a student. The nomination is based on excellent academic qualities, community service and leadership.

Following the University’s transition to a full-time co-educational institution, Terrace Myles was one of the first to enter as a member of the first full, four-year graduating WPU Class of 2016. He is only the third-ever Mr. Peace. (Christian Gray was named in 2014 and Michael Wolf was named in 2015.)

Myles majored in Communication at WPU with a concentration in integrated media and a minor in Political Science. With strong aspirations of becoming a television news reporter, Myles co-created "15 East News" a video-recorded news show highlighting William Peace University's athletics and student life.

He was also a student leader on campus, active as a Resident Assistant, an Orientation Leader, was a member of the Campus Activities Board, Vice-President of the Intramural Athletic's Club, named an Outstanding Sophomore and Outstanding Junior, and volunteered with WPU's alternative break service program, serving with the Appalachia Service Project.Myles was also involved on Student Council, serving as president of the Sophomore class (2014), vice president of the Junior class (2015), and vice president of the Senior Class (2016).

Keasler's accomplishment has been a long-time coming. She matriculated as a student immediately following her high school graduation, but circumstances caused her to withdraw after completing her first year, and she went to work to help support her family. Later, after getting married and raising her family, she returned to Peace and began taking classes.

Over the past 12 years, Keasler, who also serves as WPU's Student Services' Office Manager, has tirelessly worked toward obtaining her degree, as well as the hearts of students, alumni, faculty, and staff alike. Affectionately known on campus as "Mama Sheri," Keasler always has time to listen and advise. Her warm spirit often proceeds her, and many think of her as Peace's mayor!

Former Miss Peace Recipients, 1928-Present

Miss Peace 1928  *Madge Riner Edson '28
Miss Peace 1929  *Jean S. McIver '29
Miss Peace 1930  *Ethlyn Barger Sherrill '30
Miss Peace 1931  Alice McKinnon '31
Miss Peace 1932  *Alice Searight Phillips '32
Miss Peace 1933 Unknown
Miss Peace 1934  *Carol Long Avery '34
Miss Peace 1935  Blessing Whitmore Brown '35
Miss Peace 1936  *Marjorie Clark Barfield '36
Miss Peace 1937  Frances Cromartie Jones '37
Miss Peace 1938  *Josephine Martin Flynn '38
Miss Peace 1939  *Helen Purdie Clark Jackson '39
Miss Peace 1940  *Doris Goddard '40
Miss Peace 1941  Jeanne Batchelor Warner '41
Miss Peace 1942  *Dorothy Harrison Tippett '42
Miss Peace 1943  *Margaret Passey Ellis '43
Miss Peace 1944  Betty Patrick McFadden '44
Miss Peace 1945  Frances Golden Blue '45
Miss Peace 1946  *Mary Lib Moore Phipps '46
Miss Peace 1947  Jane T. Stephenson '47
Miss Peace 1948  *Kitty Altizer Brennan '48
Miss Peace 1949  Mary Lib Walker Taylor '49
Miss Peace 1950  Joyce Ann Evans Wallace '50
Miss Peace 1951  Virginia McQueen Rose '51
Miss Peace 1952  Peggy Waldine Barnes '52
Miss Peace 1953  Reba (Raye) King Hensdale '53
Miss Peace 1954  *Sally Ann Bullock Bullock '54
Miss Peace 1955  *Mary Allen McDonald Risher '55
Miss Peace 1956  Dorothy Pressly Fulghum '56
Miss Peace 1957  Margaret "Lyn" James Lambert '57
Miss Peace 1958  Marianne Mull Browning '58
Miss Peace 1959  *Gladys Helms '59
Miss Peace 1960  Marie "Ree" Tribby Carroll '60
Miss Peace 1961  Susan Crow Record '61
Miss Peace 1962  Anne Raglan Stamps Taylor '62
Miss Peace 1963  Peggy Proctor Capps '63
Miss Peace 1964  Camille Broadhurst Simpson '64
Miss Peace 1965  Hennie Adams Gregory '65
Miss Peace 1966  Linda Harris McKinney '66
Miss Peace 1967  Eugenia (Genie) Croom Starnes '67
Miss Peace 1968  Mary Brent Smith Wright '68
Miss Peace 1969  Marcia Edwards Vanore '69
Miss Peace 1970  Karen Hancock Blackwelder '70
Miss Peace 1971  Joan M. Austin '71
Miss Peace 1972  Stephanie Fountain Bynum '72
Miss Peace 1973  Marnie McBryde '73
Miss Peace 1974  Susan Craft Quinn '74
Miss Peace 1975  Teresa Hicks Wimbrow '75
Miss Peace 1976  Martha Jayne Cameron Rhyne '76
Miss Peace 1977  Liz Thurston '77
Miss Peace 1978  Alisa Lamm Stevens '78
Miss Peace 1979  Sarah Armstrong Barge '79
Miss Peace 1980  Abbie L. Young '80
Miss Peace 1981  Rhonda Winstead Brown '81
Miss Peace 1982  Kelly Key Gaines '82
Miss Peace 1983  Wendy Cox Winslow '83
Miss Peace 1984  Jean Marie McCormick '84
Miss Peace 1985  Jean Elizabeth 'Beth' Flye '85
Miss Peace 1986  Lorraine "Lori" S. Gupton '86
Miss Peace 1986  Angela Thompson Zemonek '86
Miss Peace 1987  Amy McLaughlin Cochran '87
Miss Peace 1988  Rebecca Helms Smarr '88
Miss Peace 1989  Susanna Jarvis Jones '89
Miss Peace 1990  Karen Rives Kalafatas '90
Miss Peace 1991  Julieann Kafer Dix '91
Miss Peace 1992  Teresa Webster Palma '92
Miss Peace 1993  Crystal Lane Brinn '93
Miss Peace 1994  Lynn May McPhaul '94
Miss Peace 1995  Susanne Winslow McDaniel '95 '97
Miss Peace 1996  Anna Bernardo Lee '96
Miss Peace 1997  Kimberly Alyce Chappell Hill '97
Miss Peace 1998  Allison Jane Siler Capps '98 '00
Miss Peace 1999  Kimberly Crabtree Herman '99 '01
Miss Peace 2000  Emily Feimster '00 '02
Miss Peace 2001  Mohanalakshmi Rajakumar Phongsavan '98 '00
Miss Peace 2002  Miranda Buckner Duncan '00 '02
Miss Peace 2003  Katherine Brundage Brantner '04
Miss Peace 2004  Meghan Beeler Pridemore '02 '04
Miss Peace 2005  Jessica Lynne Kiernan '05
Miss Peace 2006  Natalie Michell Leary '04 '06
Miss Peace 2007  JoAnn Rae Lampley '07
Miss Peace 2008  Elizabeth Hayden Miller '08
Miss Peace 2009  Amber Harris Hogg '09
Miss Peace 2010  Maria Leonor Lopez '10
Miss Peace 2011  Saarah Abdul-Rauf '11
Miss Peace 2012  Taylor C. Shaw '12
Miss Peace 2013  Faith Malone Inman '13
Miss Peace 2014  Hannah Murphy Smidler '14
Miss Peace 2015  Macy Beaman '15
Miss Peace 2016  Sheri Jacobs Keasler '16

Former Mr. Peace Recipients, 2014-Present

Mr. Peace 2014  Christian Gray '14
Mr. Peace 2015  Michael Wolf '15
Mr. Peace 2015  Terrace Lynn Myles '16

* Deceased