Student Awards 2021

April 13, 2021

Each year we have the opportunity to celebrate the achievements of our students. To honor  their dedication, ability to go above and beyond and for their commitment to excellence. Academic Awards recognize these high performing students from within each of the majors. Recipients are selected by faculty based on their outstanding work ethic and leadership.

While we could not hold the ceremony in-person, we want to ensure that each of these students are celebrated. Below are videos that highlight the accomplishments, reflections and congratulations by many of the faculty who have the opportunity to work, cultivate and nurture these students throughout the year.

Academic Support + Student Life

Taylor White Award for Excellence in Peer Tutoring: This award, named in memory of Taylor White (WPU Class of 2013), recognizes students who have served above and beyond in the role of Peer Tutor. This person exemplifies the William Peace University standard of academic excellence and Taylor’s example of serving others and representing friendships and academic dedication.

Isaiah Davis ’22

Nancy J. Frazier Student Service Award: This award was established by former Peace President Dr. S. David Frazier in memory of his mother. The award is presented to a student in student government who has demonstrated outstanding service to the University and her/his classmates.

Emily Freer ’22

Art, Communication, and Simulation and Game Design

Communication Outstanding Graduate Award: Established by the faculty of the Communication program this award recognizes an outstanding Communication major.

Jenica Myers ’21

Mabel Pugh Art Award: Established in memory of Ruth Huntington Moore with a bequest from the estate of Mabel Pugh, head of the art department at Peace College from 1936 until 1960, this award is given annually to a returning First Year student who is a graphic design major and who shows outstanding progress in the development of their art work in the areas of creativity and craftsmanship.

Abigail Liles ’23

Peace Times Award: The Peace Times Award is presented by faculty advisors to a member of the Peace Times staff who has made the most significant contributions to the student newspaper during the year.

Victoria Mims ’24

Simulation and Game Design Outstanding Graduate Award: Established by the faculty of the Simulation and Game Design program, this award recognizes an outstanding Simulation and Game Design major.

Luke Deeter ’21

Jayda Bernard ’21

Culture, History, and Politics

Anthropology Student of the Year Award: Established by Dr. Vincent Melomo, this award recognizes an outstanding anthropology major.

Katelyn Doyle ’23

Jasanee Killins ’24

Laura Vick Award in Anthropology: This award, named in honor of Dr. Laura Vick, retired Professor of Anthropology and established in 2015, is given to a student majoring or minoring in Anthropology who has accomplished exceptional scholarship in anthropology and/or exhibited exceptional initiative and leadership in engaging in and promoting the discipline on campus and beyond. To qualify on the basis of “exceptional scholarship” the student should have a 3.5 or better within the coursework for the major and should have accomplished significant research. To qualify on the basis of exceptional initiative and leadership experience the student should have distinguished themselves by participating in anthropology related study abroad programs, field experiences, volunteering, and/or the anthropology club, and should have a GPA of 3.0 or better.

Virginia Nelson ’21

Tyner-Crossno Award in History and Political Science: This award, established in 1987 by Dr. Wayne C. Tyner, retired Alumni Professor of History, and Mr. John L. Crossno, retired Associate Professor of History, is given annually to a student who has taken at least nine semester hours in history and/or political science, who has done excellent work in those courses, and who has demonstrated seriousness of purpose in his or her studies.

Rachel Ashworth ’21 (HIS)

William Shafer ’21 (PSC)


Exemplary Future Educator Award: The Exemplary Future Educator Award is presented to a student, or students, that have demonstrated all-around excellence in modeling leadership, initiative, and collaboration in the educational setting. The student(s) also foster positive relationships with colleagues and the belief that ALL students can learn.

Zekia Randle ’21 (TUG)

Kimberly McClain-Coleman ’21 (SPS)


Celeste Penny English Award: The late Celeste Penny, class of 1909, who taught English for many years in the North Carolina public schools, established this award in 1973. It is awarded to a First Year student chosen by the faculty of the English Department for the most outstanding work in the First Time in College English classes.

Aleksandr Mariassov ’24

Kamali Padilla ’24

Donolique “Leek” Tyrell ’24

Alexus Hickok Russell ’24

Jayden Miles ’24

Hannah Collier ’25

Mary Pate Currie Award: This award was established in memory of Mary Pate Currie, Peace College class of 1923, by her family and friends. The award recognizes a rising William Peace University senior of high moral character who exemplifies the character of Mary Pate Currie. The selection is made annually by a committee of faculty members representing the areas of humanities and fine arts. The recipient will demonstrate high academic achievement and have a major in an area of the humanities.

Mary Hanna ’22

Schwertman Award for Excellence in English: This award is presented annually to the student chosen by the English faculty for the most outstanding work in English. The award honors the memory of Dr. Mary Pogue Schwertman, who taught English at Peace from 1960 until her death in 1981.

Michaela Knott ’21

Theatre/Musical Theatre Outstanding Graduate Award: Established by the faculty of the Theatre/Musical Theatre program, this award recognizes an outstanding Theatre/Musical Theatre major.

Deanna Richards ’21

Psychology and Business

Ida Withers Currie Award: The Ida Withers Currie Award is given to the outstanding senior business student chosen by the business faculty. James Currie established this award in honor of his sister, Ida Withers Currie 1929, a Peace graduate and former Professor of Business at Peace College.

Dylan Betancourt ’21

Psi Chi Outstanding Student in Psychology: Established in 2002 by the faculty of the psychology program to recognize excellence in the research and practice of psychology. The award is presented annually to the student chosen by the psychology faculty who demonstrates a commitment to scientific study of human behavior and to the values of tolerance, compassion, and critical thinking that are essential components of the discipline.

Allison Schaper ’22

Robert Everett Business Achievement Award: The W. Robert Everett Business Achievement Award Fund is given to an outstanding sophomore chosen by the business faculty.

Alyssa Crowder ’24

Science and Mathematics

Bios Award in Biological Science: Established in 1990 by Peace faculty members Drs. Patricia L. Weigant and Lisa A. Bonner, this award recognizes an outstanding biology major.

Makayla Nicely ’21

Exercise and Sport Science Outstanding Graduate Award: Established by the faculty in the Exercise and Sport Science program, this award recognizes and outstanding ESS major.

Ralph “Trey” Stroud ’22

full length video that incorporates all of the above Department videos